Sale!

Exploring Value: Novel Elements for Breakthrough Treatment.

Virtual | 14:00 - 17:40 BST | Tuesday 30 March
15:00 - 18:40 CET | 09:00 - 12:40 EST | 08:00 - 11:40 CST

£375.00 £300.00

No account? Please purchase this event to watch on-demand

Value assessments are commonplace, adopted by healthcare systems to ensure their budgets are spent optimally. Given the important role they play in managing access to treatments, it is surprising that there is no common understanding of what constitutes value from the perspective of patients, society, and payers.

Breakthrough treatments offering new sources of value that are not currently considered by healthcare systems have only exacerbated this problem. For example, most gene therapies target serious conditions, which have substantial burden on patient’s families and caregivers, and offer new scientific pathways, which can accelerate the discovery of other treatments. These are sources of value not considered in traditional value assessments. This may limit patient access to the most innovative and valuable treatments, and could lead to a misallocation of precious healthcare resources.

It’s time for a frank debate.

Are current value frameworks fit for purpose in a world of gene therapies and curative treatments? How can value assessment be expanded to adequately capture new sources of value that matter to patients, society and payers?

A coherent value framework could illuminate the key benefits generated by innovative treatments and could structure a dialogue around payers’ willingness to pay for them.

Join us for the first OHE Masterclass of 2021 where OHE’s thought leaders and international experts will discuss both established and novel elements of value, including the practical and policy challenges facing companies advocating their adoption.

The Masterclass will end by considering how these arguments resonate with payers and HTA decision makers, as well as how multi-dimensional value measurement could be incorporated into existing and future value assessments.

To understand the enhanced value flower, the case for and against expanding the value definition, and how decision-makers can capture broader value elements, this Masterclass is not to be missed.

Agenda

Welcome and Introduction to the 2021 Series

What is value?

Setting the scene

What are the novel and established sources of value?

What, Why, and How of key value elements

Break

Opportunities and barriers in presenting broader value definitions

A European perspective

The latest developments on value frameworks

A US perspective

Value & democracy

The case against expanding the value definition

Break

Broader value elements in decision making?

Methods and current practice

Is MCDA the answer?

The case for & against

Break

Panel discusion

Summary and reflections